Getting to Know You Series

Hello friends,

We are happy to say that October has been quite the happy month in our neck of the woods.

Many new families have joined our community. It’s been a pleasure getting to know fellow parents and their children. My daughter talks about all of her new friends when she gets home. It’s so sweet!

We thought it would be a good idea to start a “Getting to Know You” series for us all to become better acquainted.

Each week we’ll speak with a new member.

This week, we asked new member Hara to tell us a bit about herself and her daughter Elektra.

14618897_10154621242155818_1352821671_o

1. Please tell us a little bit about you and your family.

Hello! I’m Hara, Electra’s mum. We are new to the FC family which has delighted us both so far, so first of all we would like to thank you all for such a warm welcome! We live in Vari with our dad Panos and Electra is now 19 months old. I am an English tutor but since I had Electra I dedicate most of my time with her, so I only have a few hours of lessons per week now. Panos works long hours, including Saturdays, so Electra and I spend most of the day together. I would like to thank you all for such a warm welcome! We live in Vari with our dad Panos and Electra is now 19 months old. I am an English tutor but since I had Electra I dedicate most of my time to her, so I only have a few hours of lessons per week now. Panos works long hours, including Saturdays, so Electra and I spend most of the day together.


2. How did you hear about Friends Corner?. What made you interested in our group?

I had been looking for some activity time with Electra for quite a while now, but hadn’t found anything appealing before I discovered FC. The first time I heard about FC was through a Facebook post by Elina ( Orfeas’mum) who is an old family friend. Soon after that my friend Calliopi also recommended it. She used to come to FC with her friend Elda who instructed baby yoga classes there. I remember her telling me:” don’t look into anything else, go straight to FC. You will love it there. The people are so much like us and it’s a lovely atmosphere!” And so it was.

3. What were your first impressions of FC?

I remember the first day we came in and everyone looked at us smiling and welcomed us in. The children also came to see Electra and welcomed her in their own special way. Evi immediately showed us around and it didn’t take long for us to feel at home and relaxed.
4. How has Elektra’s experience been so far? What interests her most about the playgroup?

Although Electra is going through a “let’s stay home” phase, she has been willing to leave home and go to FC and while as a toddler she is reluctant to meet new faces, I noticed that she was happy and at ease and seems more interested and involved every time. As she loves singing and listening to music, she got very excited with Lily and now after only two sessions, she mentions Lily at home almost every day now. It’s a coincidence that her first and only doll so far is named Lily, so I guess she felt an immediate connection there too. Now every time she wants us to sing a song, she says Lily and then moves her waist to dance!


5. What appeals most to you about FC as a mother?

I love the fact that you get involved straight away! I love the self-catered facility and the option of becoming a duty member. This gives mothers, fathers and caretakers the ability to be part of what’s going on, to share experiences and ideas. There’s no judgement, no uncomfortable moments and no discrimination between old members and new. There’s just familiarity and a relaxed atmosphere!


6. Please share one especially nice moment you remember from your time at FC so far.

A capturing image is definitely the one with our babies on our laps or beside us, when we all gather in the rear room to wait for an activity to begin. The room is filled with happy little faces and sparkling little eyes. Along with the little ones, dads, mums, nannies or grandparents all await in excitement to become little children again.

 

I will leave you all with that lovely image. 🙂

I thank Hara for talking the time to share her thoughts.

Hope to see you all this week at FC to participate in sensory play, music activities, and crafts.

 

Leave a Reply

